[ 30 Day Challenge]: “K-Drama Challenge”

Now that January is over, so is my tumblr 30 Day K-Drama Challenge. It was a lot of fun and some days I even had to hold back from answering the next question. Although I did complete this in tumblr, I thought I’d post them here where I don’t run the risk of losing everything in a sea of Kim Woo Bin gifs. My media and posts were not modified but  I did change it up a bit to make it look prettier and make it more compatible for wordpress.

DAY #01: Your Favorite Kdrama

Boys Over Flowers

tumblr_n031izRfJy1t0bnpzo1_500

-My first K-Drama. I can watch this tirelessly and love it every single time. Sure, it’s cliche and many times I’ve heard it described as overrated and predictable but there’s just something so special and magical about Boys Over Flowers.

_______________________________________________

DAY #02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character

Dok Go Jin (Cha Seung Won) from The Greatest Love

-Although he’s your typical male lead, he’s really actually not. Dok Go Jin starts off like most of the other male characters in Dramaland: arrogant, jerkish, handsome and successful. Yet, unlike most other characters, Dok Go Jin is a real idiot. I’m not talking about how all male leads have their cute stupid moments, this guy is just ridiculous. His silly character makes The Greatest Love a refreshing and enjoyable trip and I really don’t think the drama would be the same without him.

_______________________________________________

DAY #03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character

Seo Eun Gi (Moon Chae Won) from Innocent Man

CN09088

-Personally, I prefer strong female leads because they’re far less likely to be frustrating or disappointing. Seo Eun Gi is one of those stronger leads but she’s quite far from being bubbly and lovable. Vengeful and full of regret, Eun Gi is a little on the crazy side (the girl collides head-string with another moving automobile…on purpose!) but she’s always determined and ready to go for what she wants. She doesn’t always makes the best choices, and you can even say that her pride is somehow her biggest flaw, yet Eun Gi is admirably passionate and intelligent.

_______________________________________________

DAY #04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character

Young Do (Kim Woo Bin) from Heirs

young-do-winter-jacket

-Today’s challenge question sucks. I have too many favorite third wheel male characters, how can I pick one? TT_TT I refer to them as second leads, though. I don’t think they’re third-wheeling, I love them! Most of the time, anyway. My choice may change tomorrow but today I feel like saying Young Do is my favorite third-wheeler. Why? Because he totally should have been the lead. His character made Heirs tolerable for me (sorry to any Heirs fans out there, respect). I think Young Do dominated the screen when he was on, even if Kim Tan (Lee Min Ho) was RIGHT THERE.

_______________________________________________

DAY #05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character

Han Jae Hee (Park Si Yeon) from Innocent Man

nice guy kdrama 2012 still 세상 어디에도 없는 차칸남자 episode 13 han jae hee park shi yeon

-In order for Seo Eun Gi to have a worthy opponent, the writers of Innocent Man had to create someone that was, in some way, similar to Eun Gi. At first, Jae Hee doesn’t appear to be all that special. After accidentally killing a man, she lets Maru (Song Joong Ki) take the fall and go to jail in her place. After some years when she is reunited with Maru, she is a completely different person. She is the wife of the CEO of a large company and Eun Gi’s step mother. Her goal is to gain the company once her husband passes away, in Eun Gi’s stead. Even though most of the time I really hated this foul-playing bimbo, she was not an evil person. Her greed and fear of going back to being poor was what drove her to merciless extremes so her crazy made the drama that much more interesting.

_______________________________________________

DAY #06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST

Park Hyo Sin – “Snowflower” from Sorry, I Love You

Hyun Bin – “That Man” from Secret Garden

-AISH!! Another hard question to answer. K-Drama OST songs are like…my LIFE!! As you can see, I’m being a rebel and picking 2 songs for this challenge – DO SOMETHING. I really can’t pick between these two TT_TT miyane, I’m indecisive like that.

_______________________________________________

DAY #07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character

There is nothing more urgent than now. Because later might never come. Life isn’t long enough to speak of the next opportunity, rather than the now that’s before our eyes

Yoon Jae (Seo In Guk) from Reply 1997

_______________________________________________

DAY #08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character

The most beautiful encounters are those with handkerchiefs. They wipe away your sweat when you’re tired, and your tears when you’re sad.

Geum Jan Di (Gu Hye Sun) from Boys Over Flowers

_______________________________________________

DAY #09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel

The reason I like you? Because you’re that person. Because you’re you. Is there another reason besides that one? I’d rather know the reason if there was one. Then I could find a way to not like you. If I can’t avoid it, then there’s only one thing I want: to remain by your side, unchanged, for long time. Here’s to our love, that chills our hearts.

Joon Hee (Hoya) from Reply 1997

_______________________________________________

DAY #10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel

“Nice men are ugly.
Handsome men are not nice.
Handsome and nice men are married.
Handsome, nice and unmarried men are useless.
Handsome, nice, unmarried and rich men are not interested in us.
Handsome, nice, unmarried, rich men who are interested in us are players .
Handsome, nice, unmarried, rich men who are interested in us and faithful are homosexuals.
Handsome, nice, unmarried, rich men who are interested in us, faithful, straight and who would not lose interest in us even if we made the first move… those men must have problems!”

Kim Sam Soon (Kim Sun Ah)’s co-worker from My Lovely Kim Sam Soon

_______________________________________________

DAY #11; Your Favorite Dialogue

-Okay okay, this isn’t much of a dialogue but this is one of my favorite scenes in a K-Drama and you have to admit, it’s pretty cute and funny ^-^

_______________________________________________

DAY #12: Your Favorite Story

-My favorite stories have been tvN’s Reply series. It’s not really just about the content that make this such a wonderful series but how the stories are told. For Reply 1994, we start from the very beginning of everyone’s friendship. We get to see how a group of college kids become a family and learn to open up and depend on each other. Reply 1997 doesn’t really give you that intro into their friendship but instead puts you right in the middle of it. Even though they aren’t YOUR friends, you feel nostalgic as if you were reliving your adolescent years. I love how in both stories, everyone is important. Sure, there’s a main girl and boy but it’s more than just a love story. It’s life.

HAHA…I JUST CAN’T XD

_______________________________________________

DAY #13: Your Favorite “I Love You”

Miho (Shin Min Ah)’s “NOMU NOMU NOMU CHUA~!!” from My GF is a Gumiho

-HAHA this one’s easy, it’s got to be Miho’s adorable, memorable line. There’s romantic scenes where the OTP confess their love confessions, and it’s sweet but how can you not love such an innocent and child-like expression?

_______________________________________________

DAY #14: Your Favorite Kiss

Cola Kiss” from Lie To Me

-I am a fan of the Cola Kiss, indeed. Who could forget such a memorable moment? This kiss threw Dramaland fans into a frenzy, I remember how excited the forums were because of it. They even gave it a title, HAH!

_______________________________________________

DAY #15: Your Favorite Ending

I Hear Your Voice

20131231-010558

TT_TT

-Automatic response, IHYV had my favorite ending, no competition. It’s nothing particularly extraordinary but perhaps the simplicity of it is what makes it so original. We don’t get a full conclusion but there is a sense of closure and feeling that the characters will go on living their lives as best as they can. As Park Soo Ha (Lee Jong Suk)’s voice narrates about the things he learned from the people around him, it feels like a happy yet sad ending. I started tearing up like a baby, I really didn’t want to say goodbye.

_______________________________________________

DAY #16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish

Unstoppable High Kick

0090002057796_0

-Thankfully I was able to pick up Unstoppable High Kick after putting it on hold for a whole year. Not that it was bad, it was just really long and I wanted to watch other things so I put it on hold and am now on ep.72. I know it’s not TECHNICALLY a drama, but it does belong in some Korean television category (sitcom). Other than that, I’ve finished everything I started (some less reluctantly than others).

_______________________________________________

DAY #17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once

-Let’s see if I remember everything, I’m a re-watcher: Boys Over Flowers, Innocent Man, I Hear Your Voice, My Girl , Coffee Prince, Goong, Dream High, Heartstrings, You’re Beautiful, Lie To Me, Secret Garden, Reply 1997, My GF is a Gumiho…I’ll stop there.

_______________________________________________

DAY #18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end

Exhibition of Fireworks

06

-I’m still trying to figure out what the writers were on when they created this. I’m not being funny or sarcastic, this drama is too awful for me to even figure out what went wrong. The story plot is interesting and starts off promising, even the characters are played by actors that I love…so what in the world? I have no clue how I even finished this, I can’t remember specifics because my mind has blocked the unpleasant memories but I do recall the agony and frustration. Just don’t watch this crap, it’s not worth it.

_______________________________________________

DAY #19: Your Best Actor

Hyun Bin

-My Binnie, how I’ve missed him TT_TT He’s been back since December 2012 but he still hasn’t released anything and his upcoming movie The King’s Wrath, doesn’t even have a release date yet. Still, I love this man too much. His acting is amazing and just don’t get me started on his looks.

_______________________________________________

DAY #20: Your Best Actress

Gong Hyo Jin

Gong-Hyo-Jin

-My favorite actors/actresses are the ones which I’ve watched play different characters and manage to convince me that they are not the same person. Gong Hyo Jin managed to top my actresses list too easily, she’s so natural and just brilliant! I have more favorite actresses than I do actors (haha go figure) but it wasn’t hard for me pick just one (which is also unusual). UNNIE SARANGHAEYO~!

_______________________________________________

DAY #21: Your Worst Actor

Kim Hyun Joong

kim-hyun-joong

-WHAAAAAAAAAAAA!!! I can already sense some of my fellow Triple S followers start to sharpen their pitchforks and unfollowing me. Y’all calm the hell down, you know it’s not in my nature to be mean but Hyun Joong, our lovely 4D Leader is NOT a good actor. There I said it, come at me!! No, not really ahhhhh!!! His acting is too stiff and since he’s been casted as a main lead, I can’t ignore such emotionless and awkward ways. Despite this, I still actually like him, but not as an actor. This charismatic son-of-a-gun is too lovable and I feel bad for picking him as the worst actor but hey, he’s working on a new drama! Maybe I’ll change my mind by the time I get the opportunity to watch it but for now, my opinion will remain the same. 

_______________________________________________

DAY #22: Your Worst Actress

Shin Se Kyung

shinsekyung-800x450

-Someone who I truly believe is only in the industry because of her looks. I’ve watched 3 different dramas she’s in and 2 movies(not on purpose, she’s just coincidentally in them) , yet I think in every single one of them she just does such a poor job, it’s like she doesn’t even try. She’s not very likable to begin with, to the point where her presence actually bothers me, but I don’t want to hate on her, that’s just not my way.

_______________________________________________

DAY #23: Your Best Couple

Joo Won(Binnie) and Ra Im (Ha Ji Won) from Secret Garden

0117-ec8b9ced81aceba6bf6

-What you only want me to pick just one? WHY?! Actually, today’s challenge question is kind of an easy one…though at the same time it’s also kind of not. I know who my favorite OTP is but I like a lot more than just these two, as expected. Anyways, I love Binnie and Ha Ji Won together, I will be more than thrilled if they ever actually started dating.

_______________________________________________

DAY #24: Your Worst Couple

Gil Da Ran (Lee Min Jung) and …..uh…not sure(Gong Yoo) from Big

Big-big-korean-drama-EB-B9-85-34733768-1280-720

-It was definitely not the actors nor the acting that I had an issue with here. The problem with Big‘s OTP is that their story is just…creepy. Gong Yoo is a grown ass man, but he’s actually a little teenage boy who is trapped in his teacher’s fiancee’s body and they start getting all comfy around each other, only Da Ran’s kind of interested in the body and somehow sympathetic towards this orphan boy…it’s just a weird story. I’m not against a noona-dongsaeng love story but there must have been a better way to do it without making it so disturbing.

_______________________________________________

DAY #25: Your First Jdrama

Hana Kimi

-I don’t watch that many J-Dramas, though I think I do want to fix that in the future. Although not as visually ‘beautiful’ and popular as K-Dramas, all the J-Dramas that I’ve watched have this charm to them. They always have a moral and the content is so deep. More than just sappy love stories, J-Dramas are very inspirational and adorable.

_______________________________________________

DAY #26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama

Good Doctor

_______________________________________________

DAY #27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like

Playful Kiss

015eg

-Yes, this is actually quite adorable, yet…I just hate everything about it. MIYANE!! Don’t hate me, I really wanted to like this story, since it’s so popular. I even watched the anime and the YouTube edition but I just can’t get a feel for it. I’ve been told one of the Japanese versions is pretty good but honestly I don’t even want to mess with it anymore. It’s just one of those stories for me.

_______________________________________________

DAY #28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like

Lie To Me

Lie-To-me-lie-to-me-2011-32033364-1280-720

-It’s not necessarily a hated drama, but not a lot of people appreciated it as much as I did. It’s such a cute story and the OTP is really good together. I don’t really see what the problem was, but I respect everyone’s opinions

_______________________________________________

DAY #29: A Kdrama which made you so happy

Boys Over Flowers

-Surprise, surprise

_______________________________________________

DAY #30: A Kdrama which made you so sad

Stairway To Heaven

-Don’t ask me why I did this to myself, I knew EXACTLY where this story was going. Yet, I chose to stick with it and even enjoyed it, though I ended up emotionally traumatized and now I usually keep away from this genre, thanks to it. Stairway to Heaven is a beautiful story, predictable YESSS!!! But not boring, not at all!!

Leave a Reply

