[K-Drama Korner]: It All Started with 4….F4

ALMOST PAAAAARADISE!!~

ALMOST PAAAAARADISE!!~

My Dramaland journey began with one of the most well-known dramas in the Asian entertainment industry. Yes, the Korean adaptation to Hana Yori Dango, Boys Over Flowers. Cinderella story plot with a heroine that roundhouse kicks the most powerful young man in South Korea that is not much less than a prince….we were a match made in heaven. By episode one, I knew life would never be the same.

Fall 2009: I remember it was early afternoon on a weekday, Tuesday or Wednesday, perhaps. On a homework break, I began to watch this drama, already familiar with the story plot.Hana Yori Dango is a Japanese anime/manga, after all, and anime is something I’ve known from the time I was old enough to hold a remote. I was in a trance, and by the time the trance broke, it was 6:00AM and the sun was rising!

Do you know what it feels like to snap out of a drama spell only to find that it is the next day, you’re still wearing yesterday’s clothes, dark circles under your eyes, homework untouched, and you’re expected to be in class in 45 minutes?!!! If you’re a drama-addict, yeah you do! It’s heartbreaking! Because Real Life is standing in between you and Gu Jun Pyo, and you’re expected to do the ‘right’ thing, so hustle your way through your morning routine to get life responsibilities over with, that way you can get back to your precious drama.

I’m definitely bragging right now, when I say that I got to class (maybe not RIGHT on time), made it through my lecture classes, and still got back to my room with enough energy to finish the series. 2 days…that’s the time it took me to finish a 25 episode television show that is not even in my own language and that I had to watch online because it doesn’t even air in my own country!  To most normal people, this is ridiculous, but to me….it was MAGICAL!!

In my opinion, Boys Over Flowers is a 10/10 PERFECTION! I recommend it to every girl in the entire world, especially if you’ve never watched Asian dramas before. This drama will suck you in to a world of beauty and delicious cliche. It will give you a perfect understanding of ’emotional trauma’ and your life will never be the same.

When I look back to what life was like before K-Dramas entered my universe, I have to admit that it seems like I was living in a gray dull planet with nothing but average expectations.

2 comments

  1. I love Boys over Flowers, I was just rewatching parts of it yesterday on dramafever.com. The one that got me hooked on KDramas was Autumn Love Story a loooooong time ago!

    1. I love that one, it tore my heart apart! LOL

Leave a Reply

